It takes time

It takes time to find your place in the world.  I am slowly realizing that as I grow and learn more opportunities that there are out there for me.  This past week I traveled to “The Great New York State Fair”.  Most New Yorkers know that the fair is a big deal for us due to the food, competitions, shows etc. That the fair has to offer.  The NY state fair is known for having themed days for fair goers as well.  I am that person that decided that I wanted to go on SUNY day to learn more about working in higher education. The SUNY system is a higher education organization.   What better place to learn more about my field of interest than a open forum!

So I went to to SUNY (State University of New York) day and sadly did not learn as much about careers in higher education as I’d hoped.  However, I did pick up a few tips about Master’s programs in higher education offered completely online. While I wasn’t looking for that information, I have learned since applying for positions in higher education in the last year that I pretty much NEED a master’s degree in order to advance in the world of higher education.

It is going to take me some time for me to reach my goal of getting into higher education, but as they say (whoever the heck they are) “if you really want it, it’s worth the wait”. My takeaway from visiting the SUNY tent was that I am doing all of the right things to get myself to where I want to be. Sometimes it takes a complete stranger to tell you to “just keep swimming”

Never rule out any chance to network, interview or just talk to someone as it could lead you anywhere.

I always remind myself of where I learned of my dream in higher education and where I someday dream of returning to help others just as they helped me
Leave a Reply

