Why I am here

Although I am brand new to the blogging world, I thought it’d be nice to let you all know why I started this in the first place.  You can also take a look at my site for more details or ask me anything you want to know more about, but here’s a little bit as to why I started this blog.

In the past year or so, I went from happy college graduate with a job to start after graduation, to a person scrambling to find somthing that pays me money (that also isn’t the local mall I worked at during high school).  It’s crazy what one year can make of someone.  After accepting a position after college as an Assitant Manager with Target, I thought I had it all.  What an accomplishment for me to have a well paying, management job with a company on the rise.  If you have read my last few posts, you know that my goal is not to work as an assistant manager in retail.  I quickly learned that I was not cut out for the postion and left that job without looking back.  Mind you, I still love walking into Target and buying all the things I do not need.  Anyway, after quitting I really thought about starting this site back then, but I was a little too chicken.  Then, I found a job and thought I’m fine.  I want to concentrate on this new job and see what I can make out of it. I had a new short term goal in mind.

But, the skill of teaching others how to find jobs and love their career is my passion.  I wouldn’t be satisfied with myself if I wasn’t able to help people in this manner.  I come to realize this now, after losing the job I considered to be a short term solution.  We should always be working towards our goals.  I had the goal of getting my Master’s and working my way back into higher eduation last year, right after I got a job in the education world.  But the longer I got comfortable in the position, the less comfortable I was stepping outside of that zone.  I knew that the minute I lost my postion that it had to have been a blessing in disguise.  I am now working on ways to finically afford a master’s program and getting some information from various schools for details on their programs.  I can’t say that I would have pictured employed and comfortable me taking that step.  Losing my job reminded me of my dreams to work in higher education.

I needed to move on and get back to where I wanted to be.  Ultimately, I want to be doing this exact thing for a living, sharing my thoughts and offering my services to help to people find jobs.  I want to show you how you can build a career.  Why would I wait for someone to hire me to start offering that help?  That is such a ludarious thought.  I had so much to say last year, why bottle that information up? I just have that many more things to say now!  Keeping the tips and tricks that I learned to myself did and would do no good.

So in hopes that just one person will read one of these blog posts, and get a job because of something I showed them, taught them, or made them see in a different light, that is why I am here.  If I help one person, I have met my goal.

Leave a Reply

