How Everything You Do Can Help Your Career.

So in one of my previous posts I talked about Pushers vs. Pullers.  Click here to learn more.  I mentioned how I want you to create as many pullers for yourself as possible.   A reader of mine brought to my attention that I didn’t exactly tell you all about plowing the way for your future and creating pullers for yourself.  So let me tell you about some of my pullers:

  • After leaving Target, I took a job in Human Resources knowing that it was potentially a temporary position.  I had to take a New York State Civil Service Exam and score within the top three people to keep my job.  I knew I would have about a year in the position before I would discover the results of my test.  So while I of course wanted to keep my job, I worked my butt off for that entire year (partially) assuming that I wouldn’t be keeping my position.
    • Why it is a puller: Even though I didn’t get a high enough score on the test, my supervisor fought for me.  He tried to see if I could keep my job.  Furthermore, he found me a short term position that would give me some work until I found another position. Not to mention, both of my supervisors are great professional references. I figured that if I worked really hard, my supervisors would help me in my next steps after my position ended.   Don’t get me wrong it sucked losing that position, I loved what I did.  I loved it so much that I offered to help train the person that took over my position.  On the other hand, I gained so much from that position.
like_a_boss_logo_06
Do work like a boss, and like your Boss
  • My sophomore year of college I took a class which studied older adulthood and the Baby boomer generation that was/is entering that stage.  I had the opportunity to take an additional credit through the class by volunteering at the local nursing homes.  I really wanted that extra college credit and I knew I would be helping the local community.  bingoWell, I quickly learned that playing BINGO in the nursing home was fine, I could NEVER (I can’t stress that word enough) work with people in the nursing home.  They were nice people but it is a field or cohort I couldn’t work with.  I didn’t hate it, but it didn’t love it.
    • Why it’s a puller: It taught me what I didn’t want to do in my future.  Instead of devoting time looking into positions in Hospice or with local nursing homes, I stayed well away from that area.  Kudos to those who work in that field, but it is not for me.  Volunteering pulled me to try something completely different from older adults.  Which is how I found an internship with the Career Services center and LOVED (can’t stress that enough either) it.

Take a look at Krystal-Bella’s post here.  Krystal-Bella has an inspiring story of how she is turning something difficult from her life and turns it into a puller by sharing it with others.  Not to mention she works a full-time job and still creates blog and vlog posts all the time.  Her story is a great example of how you can turn anything into a puller.  Krystal-Bella, thank you for sharing! It’s not always what life gives you but how you make life work for you.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

