How Did I Get Here?

Today was the first day of a new job for me. While usually the first day is the worst, (because who actually likes walking into a company and having no idea what is going on) today was pretty cool. It’s a great company. I had a bunch of tasks already listed for me to work on. Thus far in my career, I haven’t had that happen.  Typically, I am placed in a position and am either expected or encouraged to just figure out my tasks on my own.  

While it was a great day today I couldn’t help but repeatedly ask myself  how did I get here?  And I didn’t ask myself this in a surreal, holy-crap-I-got-a-job way.  I was trying to understand why they picked me in the hiring process.  The further into the work I got, the more invested I became (already)! At the end of my first day, I was feeling like I had not only accomplished something but made a contribution that will impact my team positively down the road.  That is huge. 

So why was I questioning how I got to where I am? 

If your like me, you’ll understand when I say that I replayed the interview in my head, over and over and over again.  Each time I thought over what I said,  and kept thinking “oh I liked what I said but I should’ve added …..”  When I got the phone call last week about the job offer I nearly flipped out of my seat with excitement.  I had honestly thought that I wasn’t going to get this position.  I felt I provided decent answers to the questions, but nothing spectacular.  I wasn’t any Moses parting the Red Sea.   Apparently, I was wrong.  

With this being said, I think I want to ask one of my interviewers what they thought of me in my interview, and furthermore ask what it was about me that stuck out.  I’ve heard before of my peers getting some good feedback from supervisors at their interviews before, but it has never happened to me. My previous boss simply said “you did fine with our interview” of course I did fine, you hired me! But “fine” doesn’t tell me what employers think of me. If they’re was something that this company liked than there has to be something that the next company will like too. Maybe I can play on the strengths my interviewers saw in me. It’s all about building your career, which takes time. These little wins or pullers, are going to help me in the long run! 

Leave a Reply

