How Did I Get Here (part 2)

This morning I mustered up the courage to ask a few co workers why they chose me.  Like I had said in Monday’s post, I knew I would be capable of the new job but I had hoped that my now co-workers saw that I those qualities in me.  Well as Monday began my new adventure I decided to ask what I had that they wanted.

Their response: 

While I learned that they did like my background and expeience, I was pretty much hired based on things not indicated on my resume. One co-worker said that they had liked my ability to answer the questions directly. I wasn’t going in circles, but cut to the chase and gave a clear, but detailed answers.  I also received feedback that they enjoyed the initial phone interview with me.  

Hello, give me a job

I had no idea that the few questions they asked me about my application was considered a phone interview.  It was great to get the feedback to learn a little more of what they considered as good interview answers and such.  Turns out, what I thought was just a simple phone conversation was truly my first impression.  My phone interviewer even had me pegged as their favorite candidate. 

My takeaway:

So I really did learn a lot about myself and my interview skills.  I’ve noticed in the last year and a half (where I’ve accepted 3 “big girl” jobs) that those that have hired me have done it based on their ability to detect that I’m moldable.  Meaning they can turn me into a devoted employee to that company.  They have all been completely right thus far.  I still LOVE going to target even after quitting.  And working for a school district makes me point out a school whenever we drive by one.  

Photo credits: Wikipedia
To get to my point I did learn that I have good interviewing skills in terms of showing employers that I’m a hard working dedicated employee. Those are some great qualities.  But I have a lot to learn still because I now have some decent experience in a few areas, but I need to convey that previous experience in the future.  This isn’t a failure this is just something I need to work on if I want to get where I want to be.  

Leave a Reply

