Job Hunters Guilt

I am not sure if that is the technical term for this subject or not but it’s important to discuss. Are you in a position where you’re unhappy with your current job or career path? If you said yes keep reading.  If you said no, this might be a waste.  If you’re on the fence, go back to some earlier posts about pullers and core values.

Sometimes we get into situations where leaving our current position is harder or more stressful than chasing after things we truly want.  

Quick example: I LOVED working in education.  But the job required me to be reachable on a NY state civil service test.  I didnt get a high enough score and I was cut from my position.  It sucked a lot.  And I cried,  a lot. But it dawned on me during all of this boo-hooing that I was so upset because I was getting so comfortable.  It had crossed my mind that maybe working for a school is what wanted to do for a living.  Just maybe it was what I wanted.  I was doing a decent job of convincing myself of that as well. Comfort can be a great thing, but had I not lost that job, I don’t think I would have applied for this new job that I now have.  And let me tell you, the perks and new experiences that this job has to offer is out of this world. I like how this guy explains the need to being uncomfortable.  
Not only would I not have applied for this job but I’m not sure about any job in the near future, let alone graduate school.  I hadn’t even begun to think about courses.  Now I’m gearing up for the fall 2017 online semester. 
Luckily I lost my job, because I can tell you that I was feeling guilty for leaving such a nice place. Nice people, work, days off, benefits. You name it, they have it.  Employees are treated really well there! But at some point I would’ve had to leave in order to fulfill my career goals.  

We can not let the guilt of leaving great people or work behind get in our way.  Pretend you were in my situation, would you want to have a job before losing it, or be out of a job scrambling for work.  Build your career, and look out for yourself.  It’s worth it. 

The best advice I can offer, is to talk to your boss now.  Even if they are the meanest, most rotten boss.  You’ll always be a good employee for keeping an open relationship with your boss.  This way he knows that he will need to find someone to replace you and can start thinking about the change.  It’s like giving him notice that you’ll be putting in your two week notice.  Communication is most definitely key for this task. Good luck out there.  

Leave a comment